You Beauty August 2016 Review and Unboxing

You Beauty August 2016: The Beauty Solutions Edit // Review!

Hi there!  I hope you’re having a good day.  It’s that time again – beauty box time!  This post is the You Beauty August 2016 ‘The Beauty Solutions Edit’ review and unboxing.  As I mentioned in this post, this month’s beauty boxes have been a bit disappointing!  Glossybox wasn’t too bad, but this box was so disappointing.  Read on to find out why!

You Beauty August 2016 Review and Unboxing

You Beauty Box – August 2016

The Beauty Solutions Edit claims to pull out all the stops to get us back to looking and feeling our best.  I’m not sure what’s with the ‘get you back to looking your best’.  Maybe they think we’ve been letting ourselves go?  Haha!

You Beauty August – Contents

You Beauty August 2016 Review and Unboxing 111Skin Bio Cellulose Facial Treatment Mask

111Skin – Bio Cellulose Facial Treatment Mask

I love sheet masks!  They are so hydrating and usually you don’t wash your face afterwards.  Generally, like with this one, you just rub the excess serum into your face.  This is nice as you don’t feel like you’re washing away all the benefits.

The mask is obviously one use only, you have to throw them away once you’ve used them.  It left my skin feeling so soft and hydrated – definitely a hit!  This was one of my two chosen items for the month.  At £20 per mask though, there is no chance of me ever purchasing these!!


You Beauty August 2016 Review and Unboxing Leonie Salba Gift Card

Leonie Salba – £5 Gift Card

Ugh.  This sucks.  We already got a gift card in last month’s box.  I didn’t mind that as it was for one of my favourite brands, and it was for £10.  I was able to get a toner and only pay the cost of postage.  However this gift card is only worth £5 and the cheapest thing on their site is £14.  This was one of the things everyone got the same this month.

Without being rude, I really couldn’t find anything at all on the site that I liked!  There’s a lot of leather, which I try to avoid as a vegetarian.  Their stuff just really isn’t my style.  I also think it’s unfair to include a gift card where someone has to spend at least a tenner of their own money to use.  Not everyone has that to spare, making the gift card totally useless to them.

I hope including gift cards isn’t going to become a monthly thing!


You Beauty August 2016 Review and Unboxing Nip + Fab Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads

Nip + Fab – Glycolic Fix Exfoliating Facial Pads

I’ve seen these around and wanted to try them, so I chose them as my second item for the You Beauty August box!  You only get 5 pads, which I didn’t realise when I chose them, but I guess it’s just enough to see whether I want to buy them or not.  Nip + Fab Exfoliating Facial Pads are infused with glycolic acid, which chemically exfoliates your skin.  They contain 2.8% glycolic acid, plus witch hazel, to help tone the skin.  They also contain hyaluronic acid and soothing blue daisy.

The pads smell nice, a tiny bit chemical but mostly nice and fresh.  They are quite small but you can use both sides, so they cover the whole face.  I wish we’d got a slightly larger sample, as these won’t even last a week (especially as you can use up to twice daily!)


You Beauty August 2016 Review and Unboxing Beverley Hills Formula Perfect White Black Toothpaste

Beverley Hills Formula – Perfect White Black Toothpaste

Another ugh from me… I mean, I can’t get that excited over toothpaste.  I try not to be negative, but nobody really subscribes to a beauty box for toothpaste, do they?  This was the second standard item that everyone gets.

Scientifically formulated with activated charcoal, this black toothpaste helps eliminate the bacteria that causes bad breath.  The charcoal also helps remove stains on the teeth (from drinking coffee, red wine etc).  And yes, the toothpaste itself is literally black!  It’s like a black gel, very strange.  It tastes minty and you probably wouldn’t know it wasn’t normal toothpaste without seeing it.   

That’s pretty much all I’ve got to say.  I’ll use it up, but I’d rather have actual makeup or beauty products in my beauty boxes!


How to Subscribe

For more details on how to subscribe and the cost, read this post.

Overall Summary

Overall, I was pretty disappointed in the You Beauty August edition.  The face mask was nice but is used up in one go.  The gift card is useless to me, the toothpaste is pretty dull.  The Nip + Fab pads are good but a very small sample.

I do have to say that obviously at £6.95, this box is the cheapest on the market.  BUT!  I hope they read the feedback from this month and take it on board.  

There were other items available to choose from, but they were practically all skincare.  I have quite bad skin at the moment, with lots of breakouts.  I’m trying to stick to a very regimented skin routine, without constantly changing products.  That’s why I didn’t choose anything different (except the pads, but I know my skin is ok with glycolic acid).


Did you get the box this month?  Let me know what you thought of yours!


Follow me on Bloglovin for lots more reviews and unboxings!

Follow

Never miss another post from me! Click below to follow me on Bloglovin. If RSS or social media are more your style, check out my sidebar! Follow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *