Glossybox August 2016 Review and Unboxing Rae Feather 5th Birthday

Glossybox August 2016 // Unboxing and Review!

Hey guys!  How are you?  Hope you’re well!  It’s time for the Glossybox August unboxing.  If you’re a regular reader, you’ll know that I’m not super fussy.  I generally really enjoy my beauty boxes and I’m not that hard to please.  Saying that…!  This month’s boxes were really not that great.  My You Beauty one was the worst this month, but the Glossybox wasn’t great either.

Glossybox August 2016 Review and Unboxing Rae Feather 5th Birthday

August 2016 Glossybox

Rae Feather

Apparently Glossybox are five years old this month.  I’m surprised they didn’t make more of the birthday theme – instead they focused on fashion label Rae Feather.  I hadn’t heard of this brand before, but apparently they are a British brand launched in late 2013.   They aim to provide good quality, affordable luxury fashion.  

As one of our five items in the Glossybox August 2016, we received a Rae Feather ‘pochette’.  What the h*ll is a pochette I hear you ask?  Apparently it’s basically a small canvas zipped bag, with the Glossybox initials monogrammed on the front.  It’s lined to make it splash-proof.

For full details about how Glossybox subscriptions work and what they cost, check out this post.

Glossybox August 2016 – Contents

Here’s what I got in my box:

Glossybox August 2016 Review and Unboxing Cowshed Wild Cow Invigorating Body Lotion

Cowshed – Wild Cow Invigorating Body Lotion

This body lotion smells really nice and zingy!  The 30ml sample is relatively small for a body lotion, but not too bad.  I mean… I just can’t get that excited about body lotion.  They are just so boring!  I think skinnedcartree says it best!

Price: £20 full size (ouch!)


Glossybox August 2016 Review and Unboxing Mudmasky Facial Detox Purifying Recovery Mask

Mudmasky – Facial Detox Purifying Recovery Mask

Mudmasky is apparently one of the first ever PH-balanced facial treatments.  I love face masks, so was really happy to get this!  This one contains all natural ingredients, with no parabens.  It detoxifies skin, tightens pores and leaves skin bright and hydrated.  You just need to use it once a week, for 7-11 minutes (7 for dry skin, 9 for normal and 11 for oily).

This mud mask sets pretty tight on your skin, so no laughing!  It kind of looks like camouflage as patches are dark green and then some dry light green.  It has a slightly strange smell but nothing too bad.  The mask left my skin feeling really smooth and tightened, but in definite need of some moisturiser.  Nothing special but I do quite like this!

Price: £53 for full size (good lord!!)


Glossybox August 2016 Review and Unboxing Spa To You Deep Pore Facial Cleansing Brush

Spa To You – Deep Pore Facial Cleansing Brush

Oh this brush… this brush.  I have used a brush just like this before, which I quite enjoyed.  I eventually got rid of it as it had got quite old and I prefer a flannel and cleansing balm.  When I saw this Spa To You brush in the box, I was looking forward to giving it another go.  That is, until it took half my face off!!  No kidding, I don’t understand how this is meant for people’s faces!  

I don’t have sensitive skin and I have a high pain threshold but there is no way I’d ever use this again.  It’s so rough, it just scrapes against your skin, leaving it really red and sore.  The wetter the brush is, the less rough but still not bearable.

Did anyone else get one and like it?  Have I got a dud?  Let me know in the comments!

Price: £6.99


Glossybox August 2016 Review and Unboxing MUA Heaven & Earth Eyeshadow Palette

MUA – Heaven & Earth Eyeshadow Palette

Glossybox emailed after we had all received our boxes, saying there had been a processing error.  This meant that people hadn’t got the MUA palettes they had been allowed to pre-choose.  I personally can’t remember which one I chose, but apparently not this one according to Glossybox!  They are going to send our actual selected palettes in next month’s box, as an extra.  Totally cool by me, as I like the palette I got this month too 🙂

Heaven & Earth is a 12-shade eyeshadow palette containing lots of browns and neutrals.  It’s the perfect everyday, basic palette.  There’s a nice mix of matte/satin and shimmery shades.  I’ve got a few MUA palettes and they’re really nice quality considering the super-low price!  I reckon I’ll get a lot of use out of this – definitely the star of the Glossybox August edition for me!

Price: £4


Summary

Overall, I was pretty disappointed with the August Glossybox.  The MUA palette just about saves it, but I can’t understand how the facial brush ever passed any safety tests haha!  The ‘pochette’ is…well…a slightly crappy quality makeup pouch really.  You often get these sort of bags as the container for beauty box items, not counted as an actual item themselves.  I can’t imagine anyone particularly wanting it on show!


If you decide to sign up to Glossybox (I promise, most months are much better!), you can use this link which will help me collect points but there is absolutely no pressure to use it.  If you would prefer not to, simply google Glossybox and sign up there!


Follow me on Bloglovin for lots more reviews and unboxings!

Follow

Never miss another post from me! Click below to follow me on Bloglovin. If RSS or social media are more your style, check out my sidebar! Follow

5 thoughts on “Glossybox August 2016 // Unboxing and Review!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *