Birchbox x Pinterest // January 2016 // Review and Unboxing!

Hola!

I’m back with another beauty box review – it’s been a great month for beauty subscription boxes! ¬†Birchbox have pulled it out of the bag with this month’s box… the box itself is gorgeous and I absolutely love most of the contents too ūüôā

January 2016 Birchbox x Pinterest

The theme for January’s box is ‘best year ever’, which is really positive and uplifting. ¬†Birchbox have collaborated with Pinterest this month to bring us inspiration and help motivate us for the year ahead. ¬†How gorgeous is this box?

My favourite thing about this month’s box is the adorable postcards! ¬†I’m a big stationery lover anyway, but the designs and positive quotes on these are great. ¬†I think I’ll frame a few of my favourites to go in my beauty area. ¬†I’ve photographed the products with a different postcard behind each one so that you can see them all.

This month’s goodies (I’m loving the pink theme)!

January 2016 Birchbox x Pinterest

January 2016 Birchbox

 

2016-01-11 23.25.08

Beauty Protector – Protect & Detangle

I was really happy to get this as I already use their hair oil (in fact, it was them that finally converted me to liking hair oils!)  This leave-in conditioner is in their signature gorgeous scent which is like toffee or caramel, yum.  I use leave-in conditioner every time I wash my hair.  It helps to brush through my wet hair before drying it as it cuts down on knots and tangles Рdefinitely useful if you have long hair!  As a plus, this also helps reduce damage from heat styling and protects against UV damage.

Beauty Protector - Protect & Detangle

Whish Body Butter Almond

I have to admit, I never get that excited when I receive body lotions in beauty subscription boxes. ¬†I don’t use body lotion as often as I should – having M.E, I find showers pretty exhausting and painful, so I usually have to go and lie down as soon as I get out. ¬†Then the last thing I want to do it stand around stretching to reach all my skin lol! ¬†I do use it, but probably should try and be more consistent.

Anyway… back to the Whish lotion! ¬†The best thing about this is the smell…mmmm – if you like bakewell tart, this almond scented body butter is for you! ¬†It contains organic aloe, shea and raspberry butter. ¬†It does leave my skin silky soft, even with my sporadic use, haha. ¬†It also works really nicely as a hand cream, as I discovered when I was too lazy to go and get my actual hand cream!

2016-01-11 23.25.40

Birchbox #NoFilter Compact Mirror

This month’s ‘beauty bonus’ is a #NOfilter pink compact mirror. ¬†I found the #NOfilter slogan a bit surprising, as I thought that was more of an Instagram than a Pinterest thing (but maybe I’m not down with the kids!) ¬†Aside from that, it’s really cute and perfect for your handbag (even a clutch bag, as it’s really slim).

Birchbox #NoFilter Compact Mirror

Benefit They’re Real Tinted Primer

Now, I wasn’t overly excited when I saw this eyelash primer, as I’ve recently tried the Estee Lauder Little Black Primer and didn’t love it. ¬†I’m so glad I gave it a try, as I much prefer this one! ¬†Unfortunately it is in ‘Mink Brown’ and my eyelashes are naturally black, but the colour is easily covered when I put my mascara over the top.

If you haven’t heard of them, lash primers are intended to be used just before your mascara – they should lift, lengthen and separate your lashes, meaning more impact once your mascara is on. ¬†This primer certainly does all that, which I think is due to the awesome brush!

Primer wand

It is just the right shape and flexibility to get every lash, and it has this little spiky tip to the wand, which looks a little intimidating but is actually perfect for getting into the inner corner lashes where it’s easy to miss. ¬†The primer can also be worn alone, giving just enough length and definition for a natural look.

Absolution L'Eau Soir et Matin

Absolution L’Eau Soir et Matin

This cleansing water seems to work much like micellar water, removing makeup and leaving your skin clean. ¬†It contains hazelnut oil and aloe vera, which are kind to skin. ¬†Although it contains hazelnut oil, it doesn’t have an oily texture at all – the liquid is thin and watery like a micellar. ¬†It doesn’t seem to leave any residue on the face. ¬†It has a nice, light fragrance and is really pleasant to use, but at ¬£27 for the full-sized version, I definitely wouldn’t buy it!

Jelly Pong Pong Lighten Up Brightener and Waterliner

Jelly Pong Pong Lighten Up Brightener & Waterliner

My heart sank a little when I saw this, as I really didn’t like their Highlighting Pencil (see why here), and actually found it quite irritating on my eyes. ¬†I so nearly didn’t unseal this as I thought it would be similar, but in the name of blogging, I risked sore eyes for you guys! ūüėÄ ¬† And I’m glad I did, because this brightening pencil is so much better. ¬†It is a lovely natural nude colour and really creamy in consistency, which is great because it doesn’t drag the skin like the highlighting one.

It is really pigmented and I actually prefer it on my waterline to my Rimmel Nude Exaggerate liner. ¬†It’s also nice as a subtle brow-bone highlighter. I tried it under my eyes as suggested and it was ok, but I wouldn’t swap my actual concealer for it. ¬†I wouldn’t actually buy it at ¬£14.95 (we received full size!) but I’ll definitely continue using this one.


Overall, another Birchbox that I’m really happy with. ¬†I will get a lot of use out of the contents¬†and it was a nice mixture of skincare, cosmetics and hair products. ¬†I reckon this will be another box that I keep to use as well, as it’s really pretty (although I’m running out of uses for all my saved boxes haha)!

What do you think of this month’s box? ¬†Have you tried any of the products? ¬†Let me know in the comments or on social media! ¬†Tweet me at @KClifewithME

 

Never miss another post from me! Click below to follow me on Bloglovin. If RSS or social media are more your style, check out my sidebar! Follow

0 thoughts on “Birchbox x Pinterest // January 2016 // Review and Unboxing!

  1. wordsofapaige says:

    Whenever I see the new Birchbox I’m always disappointed that I switched to Glossybox. They always have such fab collaborations and designs. But at the same time they contain too many moisturisers and hair products for me. This box looks fantastic though, just a shame my stash can’t cope with having anymore right now.

    https://wordsofapaige.wordpress.com/ xx

  2. DiagonSally says:

    I think I prefer birchbox over ipsy. It’s a shame I can’t subscribe to either one in Australia though, I really love the idea of sampling little products that I usually wouldn’t try. That little #nofilter mirror is so cute!

    Sally ~ DiagonSally

  3. Naomi says:

    Totally agree about the cleansing water! I got that in my box and i feel it’s really good but these stuff that does the same job and they are cheaper!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *