Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous

BIRCHBOX x RIFLE PAPER CO // APRIL 2016 // REVIEW AND UNBOXING!

Hi guys!  As if it’s the APRIL Birchbox already….at risk of sounding 80 years old, where is this year disappearing to?!  As usual, if you’re a new reader, you can find out all about how the subscription works and the cost in this post.  Otherwise, stick with me and we’ll get right into it! If you’re tempted to sign up, and use this link, you will be credited £5 of points to be spent in the Birchbox online shop.  I will also be credited with points for referring you.  Of course there is no pressure to do this, you can just Google them and sign up that way, but of course you won’t get the £5 free points yourself.  Just wanted to be totally upfront about that! :)

Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous

Birchbox April 2016: Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co – Blooming Marvellous

The theme for April’s Birchbox is ‘Blooming Marvellous’, with two different floral design boxes to choose from.  The designs are in collaboration with UK stationery and lifestyle brand Rifle Paper Co. (if you click that link and love stationery like I do, then I apologise to your bank balance!)  All the products in this month’s box are intended to take us into spring feeling ‘bright, breezy and beautiful’.

Beaver Professional Hydro Nutritive Shampoo Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous     Beaver Professional Hydro Nutritive Repairing Conditioner Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous

Beaver Professional Hydro Nutritive Repairing Shampoo and Conditioner

This shampoo and conditioner have a gentle formula and lots of natural ingredients like avocado oil and aloe vera, to moisturise your hair.  I haven’t tested this, as I am going to save them to take to my hydrotherapy session for my shower – much easier than taking big bottles!   It’s a little strange to get two different sized samples, especially given that if anything, you’d usually get through more conditioner than shampoo (or I know I certainly do).  I’m not really sure why they’ve done this – I’m sure most people would prefer two tubes.

Kueshi - Foot Care Cream Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous

Kueshi – Foot Care Cream

This nourishing foot lotion is enriched with sweet almond oil and royal jelly to soothe and soften feet, as well as tea tree oil to calm and relieve any soreness.  Worth noting that although this product is not tested on animals, it is not suitable for vegans, given that it contains royal jelly (which comes from bees). It has a pretty strong scent of tea tree oil, which I don’t mind at all – it’s quite a strong, uplifting scent.  

The cream sinks into the skin really quickly, which is great as I hate those really rich foot creams that leave your feet greasy for an hour afterwards and you have to walk to the bathroom on your tiptoes (or is that just me? Lol!)  A foot cream isn’t the most exciting of products, but it will get used.  I probably wouldn’t repurchase this as it’s £12 full size, and you can get just as effective foot creams for much less.

Balance Me Tinted Wonder Eye Cream Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous

Balance Me – Tinted Wonder Eye Cream

I’ve used Balance Me products before and quite like them.  They always focus on having a high level of natural ingredients in their products.  This tinted eye cream has a dual purpose – it acts as a regular eye cream, hydrating and plumping your under-eye area, but it is also slightly tinted, to brighten and conceal dark circles.  I was pretty happy to see this in the box as my dark under-eyes are pretty bad, especially since I got ill! After testing this out, I have mixed feelings.  I like it and will definitely finish off the tube, but I don’t feel like the tinting really has much effect.  

I like the idea, but it’d be nice to have something a bit more pigmented, so that you can really tell it’s not just an eye cream.  Perhaps this would be great for someone who doesn’t have too dark under-eyes, and it could give them just the tiny lift they need?  But for my eyes… it’s a bit defeated haha!  Although I like this, I wouldn’t repurchase it at £20.

Benefit Bad Gal Lash Mascara Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous

Benefit – Bad Gal Lash Mascara

Usually I’d be pretty excited about seeing a Benefit product in a beauty box… apart from this one!  I was praying it’d be Rollerlash, but sadly we received a 4g Bad Gal Lash mascara.  I don’t know why I dislike this mascara so much, when everyone else seems to love it!  Until Rollerlash, Benefit said it was their best selling product.  I just… I don’t get it. I don’t mind big mascara wands, but I tend to find with the Bad Gal one that it’s just too unwieldy and makes it hard to get into the roots of the lashes.  I feel like it just brushes product onto the last half of the lashes, and it’s really difficult to use on lower lashes due to the size.

 It’s hard to say whether the mascara formula itself is any good, as the brush always leaves me with disappointing results and I end up putting something else over it!  I’ve had a full sized one, and a few mini ones, and find them all the same. I’ve got a cunning plan to find out whether the formula is any good, without wasting the whole thing.  Once my mini Rollerlash runs out, I’m going to keep the wand and use it with the Bad Gal mascara and see if that helps.  Fingers crossed, so that this doesn’t get wasted!  Do you like Bad Gal mascara?  Have you found a way to use it that gives you dramatic lashes?  If so, let me know in the comments – I need help! 😀

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Eyeliner in Black Birchbox April 2016 - Birchbox x Rifle Paper Co - Blooming Marvellous

Cynthia Rowley Beauty – Eyeliner in Black

I have a million black kohl eyeliners, so I don’t get particularly excited about receiving them in beauty boxes, but I don’t mind too much as they will eventually get used.  I’d never heard of Cynthia Rowley Beauty before, but apparently Cynthia is a fashion designer who has recently turned her hand to beauty.  She has created a Birchbox-exclusive makeup line, so I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of her products in future boxes!

This eyeliner is VERY pigmented and really creamy, gliding on easily with no pulling.  As it’s so creamy and soft, it works well in the upper waterline as it doesn’t drag or hurt to apply.  One thing you have to know about this eyeliner is that it is INDESTRUCTIBLE!  I mean, this thing does not budge!  When I first swatched it, I tried wiping it off my hand after about 30 seconds and nothing happened.  I forgot about it until I had a shower later on, and it still barely budged!  It lasts really well on the actual eyes too, but comes off fine with a proper makeup remover.  

This liner would RRP at £11 which I think is pretty steep when there are a million other black eyeliners out there for much less, but I’ll enjoy using it as it’s great quality. Overall, I think I liked the design of this box more than some of the contents haha!  The shampoo, conditioner and foot care cream aren’t all that exciting, but the eye cream and black liner are nice.  I’m not disappointed as such, but I would like to maybe see more cosmetics or a few full sized products in next month’s box.


  What do you think of this box?  Have you tried any of the products?  Let me know in the comments!

Never miss another post from me! Click below to follow me on Bloglovin. If RSS or social media are more your style, check out my sidebar! Follow

0 thoughts on “BIRCHBOX x RIFLE PAPER CO // APRIL 2016 // REVIEW AND UNBOXING!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *